Delft surrendered to the Geuzen (Beggars)

July 27, 1572

Early in the Eighty Years War (1568-1648), the Protestant noblemen led by Willem of Orange who wanted to overthrow Spanish rule of the Netherlands styled themselves as Sea Beggars (Watergeuzen). They turned the tide early in 1572, and by July were making their way north, city by city, including Delft.

By the end of the summer, Delft had joined the revolt, which soon included the six largest cities: Dordrecht, Haarlem, Delft, Leyden, Gouda, and Amsterdam, the last to join.